Snippets: 12.04.12

Pieced Feather

As usual, this past week was quite busy, but I did manage to get a decent bit of sewing done amidst that busyness.

Over the week nights, I found time to put together this little clutch:

          Feathered ClutchFeathered Clutch - Interior

I used the Envelope Clutch Pattern by Noodlehead and paper-pieced the feather on the front flap (inspiration provided by LRstitched).  Though I love the feather on the outside, the inside of the clutch seems to be my favorite part as the color combination is one of my favorites. It was my first ever attempt at installing a zippered pocket on the inside of a bag; it was really simple to do and I like how the resulting peak of floral fabric around the pocket adds a bit of interest to the otherwise mass amount of solids.

Some time early Friday evening I think it was, I quickly put together this fold over clutch:

Fold Over Pouch

I used the Leather Accent Fold Over Pouch Pattern by LBG Studio, as a guide. I didn’t use any of the pattern pieces provided in the pattern since I only had half a fat quarter to work with, but my construction method was the same. I didn’t take as much care as I typically do, so I have some fixing up to do. I need to straighten up the seams on the outer fabric near the zipper and increase the seam allowance a tad on the lining. But, otherwise, I really like how it turned out and am in love with the cutesy fabric. :)

I didn’t find time to sew over the weekend, but I did enjoy spending time with some friends and my roomies. On Sunday we picked up a Christmas tree and trimmings. For your enjoyment, here’s a pic of our boy lazily enjoying the new addition. He had been adorably snuggled up underneath the tree for a bit, but it didn’t last long.

The Boy and the Christmas Tree: 2012

It’s already Tuesday evening, and I haven’t sewn a line in days; but I’m hoping to get started on a couple of projects for the house and some items for the shop before the weekend begins.

::Fingers Crossed:

.

Leave a Reply

